THREE BLIND DATES AND SEVEN LESSONS

Blind date? The clause freaks me out every time. It’s literally murder on the dance floor! So, this comes back to why I decided to go on it!

You are ready to find your soul mate but you aren’t finding him/her. This is to all singles out there who are preached again and again to be positive and PUTTING YOURSELF OUT THERE!!!!

We all hang out with our buddies who are either married or attached.. and they are praying that you will find a partner (Thank you!). Someone in the circle says ” Hey, I know this friend of mine who might click with you.” Hmmm…. sounds  familiar? Well, it ends there. NIL…ZIT…NADA….. you never hear about this person again! No one is going to make the move for you…. talking about it is as far as it gets.

So, back to blind dating, it doesn’t happen under the circumstances that you are so ugly that you have to go blind dating. If you are thinking that, then I am sorry to say that you have a shallow mind! The truth is, there are many unattractive people in the world.. for example, I think Ronaldinho (Brazilian footballer) is ugly, but I am sure some women out there find him attractive in a way! Well, I never understood the appeal of Jennifer Aniston, she is just an average Jane with manly features but there are lots of people who find her attractive. Some of you might call me crazy, but that’s my opinion and having an opinion doesn’t necessarily mean the truth or a lie! It just makes it yours!

I am not a person who is into blind dating but i thought, “WHAT THE HECK?” I’ve got nothing to lose except having to go with the nasty anticipation butterflies in my tummy… every single time! I must say that the world of conversation is almost extinct! What better way to put 2 strangers and see if we can preserve it (like in a museum). I began to think, blind dating is just not in the area of romance but you might find a good friend. Blind dating was my way of putting myself out there.

I have crossed the quarter life cycle and I have enough friends to hang out, to laugh with, to cry with and to be silly with. I will be meeting guys whom I would have never met because I always hang out in my safe haven. So, singles… putting yourself out there has a new definition! You don’t frequent clubs and get drunk to be noticed, you don’t go to the gym to be noticed, you don’t go to work all dolled up just to be noticed and you most definitely not pretend to be someone else just to fit it. You attract the right person when you are yourself.

“The more Susan waited, the more the doorbell didn’t ring. Or the phone.” ― Douglas Adams, Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency

I have been on 3 blind dates so far, and here are the things I have learnt:-

  1. Be yourself – A chance for a total stranger to get to know you. Voice out your opinions and it doesn’t matter if you don’t agree but having an opinion matters. If you are most comfortable to be in your jeans, then wear it!
  2. Give the guy a chance – I have always stereotyped the guys i would go out with and that turned out wrong. I have a limited pool of male friends and I have been missing out on interesting conversations; topics that are not discussed with my ‘2 peas in a pod’ minded people. Different = interesting!
  3. Patience is virtue – Developing a great relationship takes time, get to know the person little by little then sing que sera sera…. I have always been that girl whose life motto is que sera sera.
  4. Honesty – We have nothing to lose by being honest when there are no ties. If you don’t find yourself attracted to this person then SAY IT! The truth is better than a lead! We are all people with different tastes. If you say you will call, then call!!!!! Just because it’s a phrase whereby the length cannot be measured. At least by the person who is waiting. Don’t be a douchebag!!
  5. Be polite – Respect the time the other person has allocated to meet you. It’s more like a business meeting only thing you don’t know what your conversation is going to be on! Being on time is not desperate!!! Get over it! We are all living in the 21st Century and talk about women seeking equality with men. So I don’t think there is anything wrong with a girl arriving first at the restaurant. It just shows you respect time.
  6. Listen – A blind date is not about promoting yourself or give a stranger a chance to write an autobiography of you! Conversation involves someone who talks and someone who listens. You will know if the date went well with the conversations you’ve had. If you come across Johnny Bravo’s brother from another mother and it is not appealing,  please be honest and GET OUT! Well, same goes to those whose cat caught their tongue! Talk and have opinion. It shows you have a mind of your own.
  7. What are you after? – Most people don’t go on blind dates to pass time. Be honest, we are all looking for that one suitable person to be in a relationship with. Find out early what you are both after.

To say that one waits a lifetime for his soul mate to come around is a paradox. People eventually get sick of waiting, take a chance on someone, and by the art of commitment become soul mates, which takes a lifetime to perfect.

Leave a Reply

